

Journal of the National Association of **Administrative Law Judiciary**

Volume 4 | Issue 2 Article 10

10-15-1984

About NAALJ

David J. Agatstein

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.pepperdine.edu/naalj



Part of the Administrative Law Commons, and the Judges Commons

Recommended Citation

David J. Agatstein, About NAALJ, 4 J. Nat'l Ass'n Admin. L. Judges. (1984) available at https://digitalcommons.pepperdine.edu/naalj/vol4/iss2/10

This NAALJ Business is brought to you for free and open access by the Caruso School of Law at Pepperdine Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of the National Association of Administrative Law Judiciary by an authorized editor of Pepperdine Digital Commons. For more information, please contact bailey.berry@pepperdine.edu.

ABOUT NAALJ

For those who have recently joined NAALJ, or who may be thinking of joining, we include this brief description of our association.

The National Association of Administrative Law Judges, formerly known as the National Association of Administrative Hearing Officers (NAAHO), Madison, Wisconsin, is a non-profit, professional organization dedicated to the improvement of the administrative hearing process. It is comprised of state, federal, county and municipal Administrative Law Judges, hearing officer referees, trial examiners and commissioners, and members of higher appellate authorities, exercising a wide variety of subject matter jurisdiction.

NAALJ was established in 1974; it now has members in every state, Canada, the Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico. The New York State Administrative Law Judges Association, the California Administrative Law Judges Association and the Illinois Association of Administrative Law Judges are among its largest affiliated local chapters.

NAALJ strives to enhance the quality of administrative justice, and to improve the process of dispute resolution. It serves as a forum for the exchange of ideas and information, conducts periodic seminars and training conferences, publishes a journal, and confers with officials of the state and federal governments on methods of improving administrative adjudication. The National Administrative Law Foundation, incorporated by NAALJ in 1980, is expressly devoted to the public interest.

Membership in NAALJ is open to persons gainfully employed by governmental agencies who are empowered to preside over statutory fact-finding hearings or appellate proceedings arising within, among or before public agencies, or who are empowered to prepare decisions for a higher tribunal. Other persons may be eligible for associate membership.

National dues for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1984 are \$25 for all members. Members employed in New York, California, Oklahoma or Illinois must join the local chapter.

To apply for membership in NAALJ, complete the within Membership Application and mail it to Hon. Donald Beighle, Treasurer, P.O. Box 30587, Midwest City, OK 73140, together with an initial membership fee of \$25. The membership fee is in lieu of National dues for the current year, and applies to all new members, wherever employed, who do not already belong to an affiliated chapter.

For information concerning existing chapters, or the formation of an affiliate, write to Hon. Stanley J. Cygan, Secretary, at the address set forth on the inside rear cover.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 506 State Office Building, Frankfort, KY 40601

MEMBERSHIP APPLICATION AND QUESTIONNAIRE

Please answer all questions fully. Type or print.

1)	NAME: (last) (first) (M.1					
	(last) (first) (M.I.)					
2)	HOME ADDRESS: (street) (apt.)					
	(city) (state) (zip)					
3)	HOME TEL. #: () BUS. TEL. #: ()					
4)	TITLE (ALJ, HEARING OFFICER, etc.):					
5)						
6)	BUSINESS ADDRESS: (street)					
	(city) (zip)					
7)	Please send my mail to: Business Address					
8)	DATE OF BIRTH: SOC. SEC. #					
9)	Are you an attorney at law?					
.0)	My present position is:electedappointed for fixed term					
	appointed for indefinite termcompetitive civil service					
	other (explain):					
.1)	My position is:full timepart timeper diem					
.2)	Year service began:					

;)	BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF JOB DUTIES:					
1)	ACADEMIC DEGREES & YEARS AWARDED:					
i)	AWARDS, HONORS, ETC.; OTHER AFFILIATIONS (OPTIONAL):					
:==: ;)	OPTIONAL & CONFIDENTIAL: FOR USE BY THE COMMITTEE ON COMPENSATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES & HEARING OFFICERS.					
	OPTIONAL & CONFIDENTIAL: FOR USE BY THE COMMITTEE ON COMPENSA-					
	OPTIONAL & CONFIDENTIAL: FOR USE BY THE COMMITTEE ON COMPENSATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES & HEARING OFFICERS.					
	OPTIONAL & CONFIDENTIAL: FOR USE BY THE COMMITTEE ON COMPENSA- TION OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES & HEARING OFFICERS. Salary (or salary range) for your present position:					
	OPTIONAL & CONFIDENTIAL: FOR USE BY THE COMMITTEE ON COMPENSA- TION OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES & HEARING OFFICERS. Salary (or salary range) for your present position: \$ per Salary fixed by:					
;)	OPTIONAL & CONFIDENTIAL: FOR USE BY THE COMMITTEE ON COMPENSA- TION OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES & HEARING OFFICERS. Salary (or salary range) for your present position: \$ per Salary fixed by: statute civil service board appointing authority					
;)	OPTIONAL & CONFIDENTIAL: FOR USE BY THE COMMITTEE ON COMPENSA- TION OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES & HEARING OFFICERS. Salary (or salary range) for your present position: \$					

OFFICERS AND MEMBERS

OF

THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

1983-1984

Association Headquarters:

P.O. Box 30587 Midwest City, OK 73140 (405) 525-9183

Morgan E. Thompson (President) P.O. Box 30587 Midwest City, OK 73140 (405) 525-9183

Anthony Kazen (President-Elect) 2020 Highland McAllen, TX 78501 (512) 686-8146

M. Brent Oldham (Past President) Room 202, District Building 14th & Penn. Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20004 (202) 727-1189

Stanley J. Cygan (Secretary) 131 S. Elmwood Avenue Oak Park, IL 60302 (312) 793-4337

Donald Beighle (Treasurer) P.O. Box 30587 Midwest City, OK 73140 (405) 525-9183

David J. Agatstein (1st Vice President) Room 52C12 Two World Trade Center New York, NY 10047 (212) 488-7393

Barbara L. Kovarovic (2nd Vice President) Department of Human & Sources P.O. Box 742 Dodge City, KS 67801 (316) 227-7411 Judith L. Telecky (3rd Vice President) Board of Pardons and Paroles Hearing Section P.O. Box 13401 Austin, TX 78711 (512) 459-2733

Carroll D. Little (4th Vice President) 7310 Woodward Avenue, Room 312A Detroit, MI 48202 (313) 876-5222

Barbara E. Boyson (5th Vice President) Appeals Section Iowa Dept, of Revenue Hoover Building, 4th Ffr. Des Moines, IA 50319 (515) 281-4846

Paul Wyler (6th Vice President) 1311 Talmadge Street Los Angeles, CA 90027 (213) 661-9737

Marie C. Bellamy Johnson (7th Vice President) 300 N. State Street, Apt. 4525E Chicago, IL 60610 (312) 793-4528

J. W. Deese (8th Vice President) Parole Board 506 State Office Building Frankfort, KY 40601 (502) 564-3620

